Country Learning

You are here: Home > Belize

South America

Argentina Bolivia
Brazil Chile
Colombia Ecuador
Guyana Paraguay
Peru Suriname
Uruguay Venezuela

North America

Antigua and Barbuda Bahamas
Barbados Belize
Canada Costa Rica
Cuba Dominica
El Salvador Dominican Republic
Grenada Guatemala
Haiti Honduras
Jamaica Mexico
Nicaragua Panama
St. Kitts St. Lucia
St. Vincent Trinidad and Tobago
United States


Australia Fiji
Kiribati Marshall Islands
Micronesia Nauru
New Zealand

Belize Political System

Political system

Belize first became independent in 1981 and the British queen is still head of state. The liberation is still progressing slowly, especially with the neighboring community in the Caribbean. The Supreme Court is no longer British, but Caribbean. Politics is dominated by two ideologically relatively equal parties.

The Constitution provides that Belize has a British model parliamentary board. The British monarch is represented in the country by a general governor, of Belarusian nationality, whose duties are ceremonial.

The government has the executive power and is responsible to the legislative parliament (the National Assembly). The head of government is appointed as the party leader who has the greatest support in the National Assembly.

  • Countryaah: Total population and chart of Belize for years of 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023 and 2024. Also covers population density, birth rate, death rate and population growth rates.

Parliament has two chambers, the House of Representatives and the Senate. The 31 members of the House of Representatives are elected by majority vote in one-man constituencies. The term of office is a maximum of five years; the prime minister has the right to announce elections at any time during the period. The Senate has 13 members, six of whom are appointed by the government, three by the opposition and four on the recommendation of the church council, trade unions, business and representatives of the voluntary organizations. According to the results of a 2008 referendum, the senators are also to be elected in direct elections, but that new order has not yet been introduced.

Belize is divided into six districts and nine municipalities. Municipal elections are held every three years.

The country's highest court since 2010 is the Caribbean Court of Justice (Caribbean Court of Justice, CCJ) based in Trinidad and Tobago. Before that, the British Privy Council in London was the supreme authority. CCJ also decides on issues concerning the economic cooperation organization Caricom's common market.

Political System of BelizePolitical parties

Two political parties dominate: the People's United Party (PUP) and the United Democratic Party (United Democratic Party, UDP). The parties have been turned around for power. UDP took power in 2008 and has also won the two following elections after that. The breakout parties that have formed have usually dissolved after a few years.

The UDP is considered more conservative than the PUP, but both parties for a similar market-oriented economic policy. PUP was founded in 1950 as a left-wing party with a base in the trade union movement, but has over the years developed into a middle party. PUP has great support from the immigrant mastics. The UDP, which is supported by business people, among others, was formed in 1973 through a merger of three conservative and liberal parties.

Country Learning Copyright 2020 All Rights Reserved